Wow! It Worked!

2 Sep

Say goodbye to your ugly 1980s backsplash…with paint!

Dusty rose was the colour of the 80s, although I can’t understand its appeal! Regardless, it is no longer haunting my kitchen backsplash.

While I wasn’t sure painting over the dusty rose “accent” tiles would actually work, I am happy to say it did.

Follow these easy steps and you too can say good bye to ugly accent tiles in your kitchen .

1. Clean the area you wish to paint really well.

 I had about 18 accent tiles to paint over, thank goodness the entire backsplash wasn’t that colour. The base colour is white, so I was able to paint the accents this colour as well.

2. Lightly sand the tile.

3. Wipe the tile down and make sure it is completely dry.

4. Apply primer. Be careful to only paint the tile and not the grout.

I used Zinnzer primer and applied two thin coats.

5. Apply oil based paint.

I used two thin coats. I used semi-gloss because the rest of the tiles were glossy.

This was a cheap and easy fix! Next, I must tackle the dusty rose kitchen cabinetry…Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Wow! It Worked!”

  1. Lynne Barone September 3, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    Wow….sounds like a terrific idea. Glad it worked for you!

  2. sara September 8, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    Post some pictures!

Leave a Reply

