Little by Oh so Little

21 Sep

…One bank of cabinets at a time!

Wow, this is a process! I have decided to paint the upper cabinets and pantry cabinets a warm white colour. Originally, I was planning on painting the lowers white as well. Now, I feel it will be very plain and I am not certain that all the decorative accessories in the world would give it enough of a pop.

Right now I am leaning towards painting the lower cabinets a dark blue/black. What do you think?

I have completed the upper fridge and sink bank of cabinets. Now I am on my way to completing the uppers above the stove.

If you are interested in painting your wood cabinets, this is what I did

1. Remove cabinets and hardware

2.  Clean cabinets really well with TSP

3.  Sand cabinet doors as well as the cabinet box frames

4.  Swipe with a damp cloth

5. Apply a coat of primer. I used Zinnzer Primer.

6. Apply a coat of oil paint (allow 24 hours to dry)

7. Apply a second coat of oil paint (allow 24 hours to dry)

8. Re-hang cabinets and enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Little by Oh so Little”

  1. Lynne Barone September 22, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    OK…I haven’t got any design background, but I think I would go with your original idea of having everything white. What about a black counter top?

  2. Lynne Barone September 22, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    You might want to take a look at the October issue of Canadian Living. There’s an article called “A Fresh Face” page 125. White cabinets, black counter top…looks terrific!

  3. Tahira Hashmi September 22, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    back splash looks lovely all painted out…in the photos you can’t even tell

Leave a Reply

